The Kyushu island group is the third largest among Japan’s four main islands. It has an abundance of volcanoes which have given rise to numerous hot springs. It is the closest of the island groups to continental Asia and evidence points to an active exchange between the two regions since ancient times. Kyushu comprises several prefectures namely Fukuoka , Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki, and Kagoshima.