The smallest of the four main islands, Shikoku (which literally means “four countries”) comprises the four prefectures of Tokushima, Kagawa, Ehime, and Kochi. The Pacific Ocean and Seto Inland Sea surrounds this island group, with the Pacific side consisting of the portion located to the south of Shikoku's mountain range. The region has a relatively warm climate with some areas experiencing more rain throughout the year.